Thursday, November 18, 2010

Hmmmmmm...........

So I've been thinking. Am I really being me? I recently read a book called Same Difference and it was very inspiring to me. It talked about a girl going to an art camp away from her home, but not staying at the camp the whole time (a transfer student). It was a really prestigious art college in Philadelphia where she was taking the classes. Back in her home town she was perfect. She was pretty much loaded, dressed perfectly, was really beautiful, and everything in between. But her whole mindset changed at camp. People there were different. All unique in their own way, so with help from a friend there, she changed herself. She tore away her outer shell and brought forth the real her she never knew was there. I feel like I need to do that...to skin myself of this look, and transform into who I really am. I'm not perfect, I'm not popular, and I'm certainly not rich. So why act like it? I think next summer will be spent trying to find me. It will take a while, and certainly some getting used too not only by me, but my friends and everyone around me. But people need to see that just because someone dresses a certain way, doesn't mean their personality isn't like you. Don't judge, unless you know the person well enough too.I'm ready for change...

Friday, October 29, 2010

Puppy Mill Passion Project

Hey!
I am in a class called Creative Oral Written Communications. Our assignment was to find something you feel passionate about (hence the name "passion project") and write a report and present a speech about that. My chosen theme, if you will, is puppy mills. I feel strongly that they should be stopped and shouldn't have even existed in the first place...buuuut, some people just want money so bad that they're willing to hurt, damage, and sometimes kill living things. It's just terrible, and I can't think of one reason why someone would want to do it. You're probably thinking, "Well duh, it's the money," and I know that, but it's not a good reason because they are getting money at the expence at hurting an innocent puppy. I found multiple articles on the internet with my research, and it was absolutely shocking. I couldn't believe that there are about 5,000 puppy mills just in America! Something needs to be done to stop it, and now. I saw an Oprah episode where a man had a rescue and had already rescued approximately 3,000 out of the 5,000 dogs that were from puppy mills. Now that man is a saint! I hope someday that I can set up a rescue or a shelter. I really do have a passion for animals and it makes me angry that I can't do much at my age. I could volunteer at the local shelter, but I can't yet drive, and have no ride...I know, sad, right? But it's sort of odd, my love of animals, because I never really grew up around a whole bunch of them. I've had 3 dogs in my life, and not all at once. My first one was our Japanese Spitz named Saint. I had him when I was about 6 or 7. We eventually got rid of him because none of my siblings ever took care of it besides me. I loved that dog so much that I think I was afraid that if I didn't take care of him he was going to leave me, which ended up happening, and in the process, absolutely crushing me. Our next dog was our Golden Retriever(purebred) named Spencer. We got him from a great breeder locally for my brother's birthday, which was totally unfair. Her wanted one so bad that my parents said if he got good grades and didn't get in trouble then he could get one...well he didn't do either of those things, but my parents don't know how to keep a promise, so they caved. We got Spencer, kept him for a year, no one but me would take care of him so again...he left too. I was even more crushed this time, I cried myself to sleep that night. As of now though, I am very happy. I'm trying to be optimistic, but it's very hard. We just got a new dog only about 2 weeks ago. Her name is Lily and she's a Golden Retriever. But it's different this time because she's four years old and very good. And I was even happier because we got her from a shelter...not paying $500 for a purebred. I think buying a purebred is fine, but your just adding to the "homelessness", you could say, in the dog world. You can find lot's of purebred shelters and rescues. Sometimes they have rescues that are just one kind of dog, and purebred at that. But you get a really nice price for a great dog, and your saving a life.

Monday, October 25, 2010

I'm Here!

Hello!
I'm new here at BlogSpot. I really want my blog to be two things; a way to advertise adoption of animals, and to let people know what happens to me on a daily basis. I picked Be Inspired as my title because I want people to be inspired by me, and also be inspired to adopt animals from SHELTERS. I feel very strongly for animals and their well being. I think of them as being on the verge of a human, even though I know that myself and my family always come first. I hope you enjoy reading my blog!